Artistic Director

Milt received his MFA in directing from Webster Conservatory of Theatre Arts in 1983. He was immediately hired by the Repertory Theatre of Saint Louis to direct Waiting for Godot and Unseen Hand/Killers Head.

In the early ‘80s, Milt worked as an adjunct professor for St. Louis University, directing 84 Charing Cross Road and Crimes of the Heart.  He also worked with City Players during this time, directing Good, Confusions, Breaking the Code and Cloud Nine. In the summers, he would direct for Arrow Rock Lyceum Theatre, in Arrow Rock, Mo. His credits there included The Foreigner, Man of La Mancha, Fiddler on the Roof, Luann Hampton Laverty Oberlander,  and Taming of the Shrew.

From 1985 to 1989, Milt served as drama director for Kirkwood High School until he was asked to take over the drama department at Mary Institute St. Louis Country Day School.  While there, he founded Orthwein Theatre Company and served as its artistic director for six years.  During this tenure he also served as the education director for Muny 1st Stage, for which he had the honor to take a show, Solid Gold, to the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. 

Milt later returned to Kirkwood High School as the head of the drama department, and also joined St. Louis Shakespeare as associate artistic director, for which his directing credits include Hamlet, Merry Wives of Windsor, Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet, All My Sons, Amadeus, Dangerous Liaisons and Metamorphoses.

Milt has directed for a multitude of other theatre companies as well, including City Players Dirty Blonde and I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change, Hothouse Theatre’s Hurly Burly, Pterodactyls and A Lie of the Mind, New Jewish Theatre’s Another Antigone, Cherry Docs, Hearts and Sisters Rosensweig, and Muddy Waters’ Buried Child and Death of a Salesman.

As artistic director of St. Louis Actors’ Studio, Milt has directed Greetings!, The Late Henry Moss, the STLAS original production Snapshots, Antigone, 9 Parts of Desire, and The Good Person of Setzuan.

Artistic Staff and Executive Board
William RothMilton Zoth, Executive Board, Staff