LaBute New Theater Festival

7th Annual LaBute New Theater Festival

8th Annual LaBute New Theater Festival

9th Annual LaBute New Theater Festival

10th Annual LaBute New Theater Festival

Festival Book- Hot Off The Press! Neil's 10 Plays Written Exclusively For Our Stages.



Neil LaBute received his Master of Fine Arts degree in dramatic writing from New York University and was the recipient of a literary fellowship to study at the Royal Court Theatre and also attended the Sundance Institute’s Playwrights Lab.

Films Include: In the Company of Men (New York Critics’ Circle Award for Best First Feature and the Filmmaker Trophy at the Sundance Film Festival), Your Friends & Neighbors, Nurse Betty, Possession, The Shape of Things (a film adaptation of his play by the same title), The Wicker Man, Lakeview Terrace, Death at a Funeral, Some Velvet Morning, Dirty Weekend and  Fear The Night (along with various short films).

Plays Include: Bash: latter-day plays, The Shape of Things, The Mercy Seat, The Distance From Here, Autobahn, Fat Pig (Olivier Award Nominated for Best Comedy), Some Girl(s), This Is How It Goes, Wrecks, Filthy Talk For Troubled Times, In a Dark Dark House, Reasons To Be Pretty (Tony Award Nominated for Best Play), The Break of Noon, In a Forest Dark and Deep, Reasons To Be Happy, The Money Shot, The Way We Get By, All The Ways To Say I Love You, How to Fight Loneliness, Reasons to be Pretty Happy and the upcoming Comfort and Bounce The Moon (along with various collections of short plays). 

Adaptations Include: WoyzeckDraculaMiss JulieUncle Vanya and Antigone.

TV Work Includes: Full Circle, Ten X Ten and Billy & Billie for DIRECTV, Van Helsing for SYFY and The I-Land for NETFLIX.                            

LaBute is also the author of Seconds of Pleasurea collection of short fiction which was published by Grove Atlantic.




  • Neil LaBute – Film Director, Screenwriter and Playwright
  • William Roth – Actor, Founder, Artistic Director St. Louis Actors’ Studio
  • John Pierson – STLAS Assoc. Artistic Director, Actor, Teacher English and Theatre Departments John Burroughs School
  • Nathan Bush – Actor, Professor of Theatre Arts -Oregon State University
  • Michael Hogan – Actor, Director
  • Elizabeth Helman – Actor, Writer, Director, Professor of Theatre Arts -Oregon State University
  • Lizi Watt - Actor, Director
  • Kristi Gunther - Director, Production Manager


Submissions will be accepted October 1, 2024 through January 31, 2025.


Successful entries will have no more than four characters and be crafted specifically to exploit our intimate performance space. (18′ x 18′ stage) Changes in scenery or setting should be achievable quickly and with few major set moves. Our focus is on fundamental dramaturgy: plot, character and theme.

Professional, new and previously unproduced one-act play submissions should include a letter of inquiry, a synopsis and a 10-page sample from the script. Running time for each performance should not exceed 45 minutes. Up to Eight plays will be chosen. In addition, a new piece from Mr. LaBute will be performed every night for the run of the festival.

2024 HIGH SCHOOL SUBMISSIONS - Due by May 31, 2024

Winning plays by high school students will be presented in readings. The guidelines are straightforward: The one act should include no more than four characters featuring a clearly developed plot and distinctive characters. No longer than 15 minutes in length. Non-Professional, new and previously unproduced one-act play submissions should include a letter of inquiry and complete script.

Submissions should be sent to:
LaBute New Theater Festival, St. Louis Actors’ Studio, 360 N Boyle Ave, St. Louis, MO 63108
For more information: 314-458-2978 or